The wishy washy world of theme

I am planning for the Isuara story, and I have a piece of paper in front of me, and I am hashing out what the themes are of this story. So far, I have one and a half themes. At this point, I’m wondering: is this too much? Is this too much for my reader to grasp? Am I confusing my reader? Should I keep it simple? In other words, I am beyond being confused about how much I can do. I am not confused about how much my readers can do.

I am torn between the idea that readers are much smarter than some authors believe them to be, and authors shouldn’t  be so subtle that only the writer can see it–whatever it is the author wanted to be seen in the story. Some authors over-explain things, even though readers can pick up things on their own.

At the same time, no one wants to be so subtle that it feels like reading like a grocery list, or something. Or maybe that’s me.

That sounds like a fun writing prompt. Write a story using a grocery list. That’s really vague. Go for it. And tell the story based on what the character buys.

The entire story takes place in a grocery store.

That could be interesting. And I do not think I am skilled enough to do that, but I do not know.

If I never attempt it, then I will never get closer to having the skill set needed to attempt that prompt, which is paradoxical.

Theme is something that confused me to no end as a student. Seeing as I am still a student, theme still confuses me. I was so bad at finding theme in English class.  When I think of a theme for my story and write it, when someone reads it they get something else.

Is this a problem?

Yes.

Am I going to do anything about it?

Depends on what the definition of doing something about it.

Actually, I exaggerated a little bit. Though people see things differently, it doesn’t mean my theme didn’t come across. Some people see things differently, and it doesn’t mean the author is being too subtle, or something. I think that’s the beauty of writing.

In real life, people don’t look for themes. When I read How Starbucks Saved My Life, I didn’t look for a theme. I just knew that he learned a lot from working at Starbucks. He changed as a person. His point of view changed. And I don’t have to define it any more than that, because I am not writing an essay about it. I am internalizing it and keeping it for future use.

Basically, this is me

“I’m not bitter,” I say, bitterly, with a bitter expression (tumblr text post)

But, that’s okay. Because I’ll probably figure it out,  or something. That’s basically the whole point of writing.

2 responses to “The wishy washy world of theme

Leave a Reply

