I’m going to do Camp NaNoWriMo

I know. I’m crazy, right? With 9 classes, volunteering, extra curriculars, 10 standardized tests (including 5 APs), clubs, meetings, research, and more…. I really need one more thing on my plate, right?

Right.

I decided about 20 or so minutes ago that I am going to do NaNoWriMo. I got an email notification on my phone from Camp NaNoWriMo and it took me about 5 minutes to convince myself (or did the email convince me?) to do Camp NaNo.

On a side note, my eyes still hurt from looking at my phone screen in the dark. I am not as young as I used to be, apparently. So, for this blog post, I am going to be typing with my eyes closed. Ouch.

I need to do NaNo. It excites me. I need to do things that excite me. I can’t just let my life waffle away while I just sit here and study for test after test. I have to live my life and take risks. And the way I take risks is by making sure I get even less sleep than I do now. (I sleep 4-5 hours a night, on average.)

On another unrelated topic, I think I got my less vs fewer rule right. Less is for things you can’t count like sleep and fewer is for things you can count like hours of sleep.

NaNoWriMo is going to be great because it’s going to help me write the story that I have been too scared to write. A lot more on that later, I promise. Plus, it’s so fun.

So, that was my announcement.

I’m going to do NaNoWriMo this year.

It’s going to be modified. I’m going to start officially on March 1 and work through the official Camp NaNo peeps in April and I am going to finish my novel on May Sunday May 31. And technically I already started the novel a few days ago so that gives me over  92 days to write at least 50,000 words, and I hope to write more than 50,000 actually. I think that is ample time to allow me to study as well as write for my creative writing class and neighborhood magazine, and finally, also write for myself, in NaNoWriMo. Not forget to mention, I also have this pesky blog that needs updating every so often.  After I get off this Snow Week (we got a week off of school due to snow…it was only 4 days, though, because Monday was already President’s Day, so it doesn’t even count, like at all.) So, once school starts again, especially during this Spring semester, I am basically going to have no time. But I am going to see if I can work something out. And anyway,  I should have ample time on my B days (we are on “block scheduling” some people don’t know what that is but its basically what colleges do where students have some classes on some days, not every single class every day) to queue up some posts for this blog, I think.

So, 3 months. 92 days. More than that, since I am starting now. I still have a week. That’s a lot. Especially since the weekend is coming up. And hopefully we get another blizzard. I am desperately hoping for another blizzard. I need another snow week. That would be awesome.

So all in all, that gives me a lot more time to work around my busy schedule and do all the other writing I have to do.

I’m going to do Camp NaNoWriMo guys. I’m going to do it in my own way, yeah, but at the end of it, I”m still going to have a rough draft of a  novel/manuscript on my hands. This is so crazy exciting.

2 responses to “I’m going to do Camp NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

